The Department of Arts Education has made it a strategic priority to increase peer-to-peer learning and deeply involve the district’s exemplary arts teachers in the development of quality instructional supports.

To accomplish this goal, we have assembled a cohort of Arts Instruction Specialists—outstanding CPS arts teachers with expert-level disciplinary knowledge and instructional skill who collaborate with the Department on the development and delivery of arts professional learning and instructional resources. They also serve as invaluable sources of support and information for arts teachers across the district.

Our Specialists represent four arts disciplines (Visual Art, Music, Dance, and Theatre) across two grade bands (K–8 and 9–12).

To learn more about our Specialists, please email

2021–22 Arts Instruction Specialists

Elisa Foshay, Jones College Prep High School
Joy Gross, Lindblom Math & Science Academy High School
Gina Spears, Portage Park Elementary
Pamela Swope, Talcott Fine Arts & Museum Academy Elementary
Marion (MK) Victorson, Hibbard Elementary

Frank Cademartori
, CICS-Irving Park
Jenai Jenkins, Pritzker Elementary
Meghan Rieger, Audubon Elementary
Kelley Gossler, Lincoln Park High School
Leo Park, Northside College Prep High School
Michael Velasquez, Tilden High School

Alison Connelly,
Hamline Elementary
Alice Wedoff, Hibbard Elementary
Elizabeth Williams, Franklin Fine Arts Academy
Layne Drinkwater, Benito Juarez Community Academy
Mary Beth Kordik, Mather High School

Catherine (Kitty) Conde,
Ravenswood Elementary
Peter Mariani, Clinton Elementary
Aoko Omwony-Hope, Doolittle Elementary
Claire Reynes, Twain Elementary
Lara Spyer, Brighton Park Elementary
Sarah Willett, Skinner North Classical School
Fay Jenson, Taft High School